

COUNTY OF INYO

AUTHORITY

Government Code Section 24260 authorizes the Board of Supervisors to set the hours and days which County offices are open for the transaction of business by either ordinance or resolution.

PURPOSE

The County of Inyo provides a variety of services and programs to its citizens and residents. The needs of the County's residents and citizens are varied and diverse in nature. The Board of Supervisors determined it is necessary to establish standard office hours for County offices to better serve these individuals.

In accordance with the authority granted it by Government Code Section 24260, the Inyo County Board of Supervisors desired to set the hours and day which County office are open for the transaction of business, by resolution. Resolution No. 2001-29 was approved on April 17, 2001, designating business hours for County offices and to be effective upon the repeal of Inyo County Code Section 2.72, which fixed office hours for the Sheriff, Clerks, Recorders, Treasurers and Auditors of Inyo County. This repeal was accomplished through Ordinance 1041, which was also approved on April 17, 2001 and took effect thirty (30) days later.

GUIDELINES

- County offices will be kept open for the transaction of business from eight a.m. until five p.m. every day, except Saturday, Sunday, and Holidays.*
- 2. It is important to provide communication/phone access to County offices during the noon hour either through voicemail or other means as determined by the Department Head.
- 3. Department Heads will have the flexibility and discretion to adjust the hours of operations to improve the service and program access to the citizens and residents of the County.



4. The County Administrative Officer will publish the County office hours in the annual budget document for the review of the Board of Supervisors and once a year in the local newspaper.

*According to Article X, 10.16 (a) of Inyo County Personnel Rules and Regulation, County Offices, except those for which special regulations are required, shall be closed on the following legal holidays:

- January 1 (New Year's Day)
- Third Monday in January (Martin Luther King Day)
- Third Monday in February (President's Day)
- Last Monday in May (Memorial Day)
- July 4 (Independence Day)
- First Monday in September (Labor Day)
- November 11 (Veteran's Day)
- Thanksgiving Day
- Friday immediately following Thanksgiving Day
- December 25 (Christmas Day)

County offices will remain open on both Christmas Eve and New Year's Eve.

####

Link to County Office Hours here